Amazon Launches TorchNeuron Beta for Trainium Chips, Updates Kindle Colorsoft
Amazon released two updates this week: TorchNeuron, an open-source backend for running PyTorch models on its Trainium AI chips, and a revised Kindle Colorsoft e-reader for 2026. Both aim to strengthen Amazon’s position in AI hardware and consumer electronics, targeting developers and readers with incremental improvements.
Editor, Lazyfounder

30 SEC SUMMARY
- Amazon launched TorchNeuron, an open-source backend enabling PyTorch code to run on its Trainium AI chips with minimal changes.
- TorchNeuron enters public beta on 20 October, supporting Trainium2 and Trainium3 chips under the Apache 2.0 licence.
- Amazon also unveiled a 2026 update to the Kindle Colorsoft, its cheapest color e-reader, featuring a thinner design and edge-to-edge display.
- The Kindle Colorsoft is designed for color content like graphic novels but lacks stylus support.
- Both launches reflect Amazon’s push to compete in AI hardware and consumer electronics.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
KEY HIGHLIGHTS
- TorchNeuron, an open-source backend for PyTorch, allows developers to run AI models on Amazon’s Trainium chips with a one-line code change.
- The tool supports Trainium2 and Trainium3 chips and enters public beta on 20 October under the Apache 2.0 licence.
- Early adopters include Cartesia, Deepgram, the Lieber Institute for Brain Development, Hugging Face, and Uber.
- Amazon’s Kindle Colorsoft (2026) features a thinner, lighter design with a 7-inch edge-to-edge color display and IPX8 waterproofing.
- The 2026 model retains the same resolution as the 2024 version (300 ppi for black and white, 150 ppi for color) but offers no price reduction.
- The Kindle Colorsoft is optimized for graphic novels and manga but does not support stylus input.
TorchNeuron enables PyTorch on Trainium with minimal changes
Amazon launched TorchNeuron, an open-source backend that allows developers to run PyTorch code on its Trainium AI chips with just a single-line modification. According to The Next Web, the tool bridges PyTorch’s software framework with Amazon’s custom chips, reducing the time and effort typically required to port AI models to new hardware.
TorchNeuron enters public beta on 20 October under the Apache 2.0 licence. It supports both Trainium2 and Trainium3 chips, Amazon’s latest AI accelerators designed for cloud and enterprise workloads. The backend integrates with PyTorch’s existing hardware adaptation system, preserving access to standard testing and scaling tools.
Early users include Cartesia, Deepgram, and the Lieber Institute for Brain Development, which is leveraging the tool for drug research. Hugging Face and Uber have also adopted Trainium, with Uber recently expanding its AWS deal to include these chips.
Limitations and competition in AI hardware
Despite its promise, TorchNeuron’s first release skips about 22,000 PyTorch tests, including support for dynamic input shapes. Amazon has not disclosed a timeline for addressing these gaps, which could limit its appeal for complex AI workloads.
The launch reflects Amazon’s broader push to challenge Nvidia’s dominance in AI computing. Nvidia’s CUDA software and chips remain the industry standard, but Amazon claims its custom chip business now exceeds a $25 billion annual revenue run rate. The company has also been reported to be in talks to acquire Decart, a move that could further strengthen its AI hardware portfolio.
Kindle Colorsoft (2026) gets thinner, retains pricing
Alongside the TorchNeuron announcement, Amazon unveiled a 2026 update to its Kindle Colorsoft, the company’s most affordable color e-reader. The new model features a thinner, lighter design with a 7-inch edge-to-edge display, available in both standard and Signature editions. According to TechRadar, the Signature version includes wireless charging, automatic backlight adjustment, and 32GB of storage.
The display specifications remain unchanged from the 2024 model: 300 ppi for black-and-white content and 150 ppi for color. The device is waterproof (IPX8) and offers warm or cool backlighting, catering to readers of graphic novels, manga, and other color content. However, it lacks stylus support, unlike the higher-end Kindle Scribe.
Pricing for the 2026 Kindle Colorsoft matches the 2024 models, offering no cost savings for consumers. A Kids version is also available, featuring parental controls and a 12-month Amazon Kids+ subscription.
Design and use cases for the Kindle Colorsoft
The Kindle Colorsoft is marketed as a device for color content, particularly graphic novels and manga. Its lightweight build and waterproofing make it suitable for casual reading, though the lack of stylus input limits its utility for note-taking or annotations.
TechRadar notes that the Signature edition, despite its additional features, weighs more than the standard model. This trade-off between functionality and portability may influence buyer decisions, especially for users who prioritize battery life and ease of use over extra storage or wireless charging.
What this means
Lazyfounder analysis — our interpretation, not reported fact.
Amazon’s TorchNeuron beta signals a pragmatic approach to diversifying AI hardware adoption. By reducing the friction for PyTorch developers to use Trainium chips, Amazon is positioning itself as a viable alternative to Nvidia, even if full feature parity remains a work in progress. For startups and enterprises, this lowers the cost of experimenting with Trainium, though those reliant on advanced PyTorch capabilities may need to wait for further updates.
On the consumer side, the 2026 Kindle Colorsoft update reflects Amazon’s strategy of refining existing products rather than introducing disruptive innovations. The lack of price cuts or resolution improvements suggests a focus on maintaining margins in a mature market. For operators, this underscores the challenges of sustaining growth in hardware categories where incremental upgrades are the primary lever.
Overall, both announcements highlight Amazon’s dual focus: courting AI developers with open-source tools while iterating on consumer hardware to retain market share. The success of these efforts will depend on addressing current limitations—like TorchNeuron’s missing features—and convincing both developers and consumers that Amazon’s hardware can deliver long-term value.
Key takeaways
- For AI startups, TorchNeuron lowers the barrier to adopting Amazon’s Trainium chips, reducing migration time and effort.
- Founders evaluating AI hardware should weigh Trainium’s accessibility against its current limitations, like unsupported PyTorch features.
- Consumer hardware operators should note Amazon’s focus on incremental upgrades, balancing cost and innovation in saturated markets.
- Open-source tools like TorchNeuron may accelerate adoption of alternative AI chips, challenging Nvidia’s dominance in the long term.
FAQ
What is TorchNeuron, and how does it work with PyTorch?
TorchNeuron is an open-source backend developed by Amazon that allows PyTorch code to run on its Trainium AI chips with minimal changes. Developers can enable Trainium support by adding a single line to their existing PyTorch scripts.
Which Trainium chips does TorchNeuron support?
TorchNeuron supports both Trainium2 and Trainium3 chips, Amazon’s latest AI accelerators designed for model training and inference.
What are the limitations of TorchNeuron’s first release?
The initial release skips about 22,000 PyTorch tests, including support for dynamic input shapes. This may limit its compatibility with more complex AI workloads.
Does the 2026 Kindle Colorsoft offer better resolution than the 2024 model?
No, the 2026 model retains the same resolution as the 2024 version: 300 ppi for black-and-white content and 150 ppi for color.
Is the 2026 Kindle Colorsoft cheaper than the 2024 model?
No, pricing for the 2026 Kindle Colorsoft is the same as the 2024 models, despite the design updates.
Related on Lazyfounder
Sources
- The Next Web · 2026-10-19
Amazon’s TorchNeuron lets PyTorch code run on AWS Trainium chips - TechRadar · 2026-10-19
The Kindle Colorsoft just got revamped for 2026 — here's everything you need to know about Amazon's color e-reader
This story is an original summary drafted with AI by Lazyfounder from the reporting listed above and checked by automated validation. Facts are attributed to their original publishers; sections marked as analysis are Lazyfounder's. Where a source is in another language, facts were machine-translated and quotations are reported, not reproduced. Read the original coverage via the links, and see our AI policy and corrections policy.
About the author
Editor, Lazyfounder
Tarun Mottlia edits LazyFounders, covering Indian startups, funding rounds, AI and product launches. Every story on the site is AI-assisted and checked against its cited sources before publication.
More stories by Tarun MottliaGet the LazyFounder Brief
Startup, funding and AI news in a five-minute read. Join the early-access list.


